top of page
Search
mrchipman

What's buttering my bread these days? Lemon asparagus pasta.


This is not my recipe. It comes from a summer recipe roundup by Lisa Dreyer at CNN. I just editorialized it. In deference to the killjoys who hate recipes online with "stories," I'll stick with just the recipe.


Lemon Asparagus Pasta

Makes 4 servings; takes around 30 minutes from fridge to table. We usually double the recipe so we have leftovers, which aren't bad cold either.


8 ounces chickpea pasta (or use the good stuff-- rotini is best)

1⁄2 lb. asparagus, sliced on a bias (smaller than bite-sized chunks)

1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1⁄2 cup dry white wine or white cooking wine

3⁄4 cup 2% fat milk (or soy milk) (or half and half...)

1⁄2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon lemon zest

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Shredded Parmesan, for topping (optional) (no, it's not really optional... grated is fine too.)


Bring a medium-size pot filled with water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 6 to 8 minutes, then add in asparagus for the last 2 minutes of cooking time and then drain. Put the pot back on medium heat and add olive oil. Add garlic and sauté for 1 minute.


Then add wine and milk and simmer until the wine has cooked out and the sauce has thickened slightly, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in salt, lemon zest and juice, and the cooked pasta and asparagus. Top with Parmesan if desired. (You desire it.)


Years ago, I had a podcast with my BFF at the time, and we ended that podcast with the question "What's buttering your bread these days?" and we would share something that was making us particularly happy over the past couple of weeks. Playing homage to those good ol' days with this ongoing series...

UPDATE: I was recently informed by my former partner in crime (@ljgolden) that the title of my blog series should be called "Melting my butter" not "Buttering my bread." I am humbled that my memory failed me but not changing it because mmmm... bread and butter. Which you should have with this pasta.

25 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page