top of page
Search
mrchipman

What's buttering my bread these days? All things "Amazing Randi."

Updated: Oct 24, 2020

Years ago, I had a podcast with my BFF at the time, and we ended that podcast with the question "What's buttering your bread these days?" and we would share something that was making us particularly happy over the past couple of weeks. Playing homage to those good ol' days with this ongoing series...


UPDATE: I was recently informed by my former partner in crime (@ljgolden) that the title of my blog series should be called "Melting my butter" not "Buttering my bread." I am humbled that my memory failed me but not changing it because mmmm... bread and butter.


Six years ago, I was a journalist, and I got an email that led me to having one of the greatest nights of my life and certainly achieving a pinnacle of my professional life. It was from the head of the Louisville Film Society-- somehow they had decided that my preview article about the documentary "An Honest Liar" was so good that I should take the stage after the LFS screening and interview the subject, his partner, and the filmmakers.





Ever since that day, I "checked in" on James Randi-- "The Amazing Randi"-- every couple of months. Googled him to make sure he was still doing okay. That he was still with his partner, Dayvi.


On Tuesday, the man passed away at 92 in his home in South Florida. His New York Times obit is one of the most beautiful I've read.


And every time I think about it, the prickle of tears tease the corner of my eyes. It was a life well-lived. He was a man well-loved. I don't like a world without him.


I had a weird upbringing as the daughter of a woman who was widowed at 24. She let me stay up late, watch all the grown-up stuff. So I remember Randi from Johnny Carson, who I worshipped.


As a mere tot, I could be goaded into doing my Ed McMahon "Heeeeeerrrre's Johnny" routine. Hiding behind a curtain and revealing myself with all of McMahon's fanfare. (And "goaded" means... at the mere mention of my act, I'd drop everything and perform.)


I was also gifted, curious, so when Randi would appear on Carson's show, or "Real People" or other shows, and debunk a grifter, I felt like the smartest person in any room I would walk into over the next few days. I saw Randi shame these frauds. I saw him explain how he did it. It all made perfect sense to me.


I met him the night before our onstage interview. We took this picture. I'm about to cry in t-minus 10 seconds in this photo.


The next day, I met him in the green room to finalize talking points, and he gave me a deck of cards he'd designed and that he had signed for me. I met his partner and both of them lavished me with love.


I remember next to nothing about the on-stage interview. I think I did a good job. I'd never done anything like it before or since.


I will miss Randi. My lord, what a sweet, good man. Of course this day was coming... but it came too hard and fast.


Thank you, Randi for all you gave me in those brief two meetings. And all you gave all of us during your lifetime.


7 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page