top of page
Search
mrchipman

What's buttering my bread these days? Ben & Jerry's Cannoli Ice Cream


Folks who know me, even moderately, know that I am not a fan of sweet stuff. In my 20s, I was briefly married to a man who didn't like sweets and did all the grocery shopping, so we never had cookies or candies or ice cream in the house.


And it just stuck with me.


Back when I was a full-time journalist, our boss would provide the newsroom with sweet stuff every Monday-- at least at the beginning. Upon realizing that I, the first employee of said newsroom, didn't like sweets, he started doing beef jerky once a month because of me-- jerky is very much in my snacking lane.


But my now-husband, Paul, brought home a pint of Ben & Jerry's Cannoli ice cream the other day and almost all of it ended up in my belly. I am both bummed that it doesn't come in bigger sizes and relieved. I certainly will be telling (also grocery store loving) Paul to not bring it home too often.


The mascarpone ice cream is barely sweet but the fudge-dipped cannoli-shell pieces are just sweet enough. I am not a foodie, but I can see a chef doing something with this ice cream and, like, a bowl or cone made from prosciutto; it would pair so well with something savory and salty.


The long and the short of it, it's a nice thing to find something you like in a food category you don't normally like.


Check it out and enjoy!




20 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page