top of page
Search
mrchipman

What's buttering my bread these days? "DWTS Season 29"

Years ago, I had a podcast with my BFF at the time, and we ended that podcast with the question "What's buttering your bread these days?" and we would share something that was making us particularly happy over the past couple of weeks. Playing homage to those good ol' days with this ongoing series...


UPDATE: I was recently informed by my former partner in crime (@ljgolden) that the title of my blog series should be called "Melting my butter" not "Buttering my bread." I am humbled that my memory failed me but not changing it because mmmm... bread and butter.





Wait a gosh-darned minute! How can this show have 29 seasons? I am old but not that old.


As far as I'm concerned, this might as well be the first season of "Dancing with the Stars" because it is my first ever watching it.


The line-up of celebrities piqued my interest, starting with Jesse Metcalfe, who went to my high school and was in a drama extracurricular I taught when I was a senior. So if he's a good actor (I've only ever seen him in "Desperate Housewives" and I didn't know that was him) or a bad one, it's at least a teeny weeny, itsy bitsy bit my fault.


Justina Machado is one of my favorite comedic actresses, and I'll have to do a whole separate WBMBTD post about how very much I love "One Day at a Time" and all the actors in it. Johnny Weir is Johnny Weir no matter if he's on the ice, on the red carpet or on the ballroom floor. "Catfish" host Neve Schulman, "Tiger King's" Tiger Queen Carole Baskin, and "Cheer" coach Monica Aldama have provided me with hours and hours of reality tv this past... however long it has been.


So I watched the first episode and I was flooded with Thoughts. My first thought was that it was awful and made me want to punch puppies. And sloooowly... I turned around. And so did my Thoughts:

  • Why is Neve Schulman so good?

  • Is Carole Baskin there just so we can make fun of her? That sucks. I mean... making her dance to only songs about big cats? Whose idea was that?

  • "Cheer's" Coach Monica is mean on her show and mean on "DTWS". Give a person a position of power, and they think they can carry that power with them wherever they go, even when they're not the smartest person in the room.

  • Why isn't Justina Machado winning with every Latin dance she does? The woman has moves. And hips. They don't lie.

  • Jonny Weir needs to wear his locks down all the time-- those curls!

  • Tyra Banks can stay because her wardrobe is fascinating but she's messy otherwise.

  • How is Carrie Ann Inaba 52? She's the true heart of the show and should be the host. She's just so gorgeous.

I could go on and on about this wack-ass show, but it turns out to be a lot of wholesome fun and very poor decisions on everyone's parts. But it has become appointment-tv for me. I doubt if it will remain so (unlike "The Masked Singer," which I am genuinely addicted to and will appear in a future WBMBTD) unless future lineups are are as stacked as this one.


I'm rooting for you Neve and Justina!




10 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page