top of page
Search
mrchipman

What's buttering my bread these days? Jamel AKA Jamal Reactions

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

Years ago, I had a podcast with my BFF at the time, and we ended that podcast with the question "What's buttering your bread these days?" and we would share something that was making us particularly happy over the past couple of weeks. Playing homage to those good ol' days with this ongoing series...


Early this summer, I discovered the YouTube phenomenon of "reaction videos," starting with the now ubiquitous Twins is the New Trend -- Black 20-something twins reacting largely from music from my generation that they claim they've never heard/heard of before. On some of the darker nights, I could be heard exploding into laughter from my kitchen, over and over. Tim and Fred Williams, who reside in Gary, Indiana, saved me from some pretty grim thoughts.


If you aren't familiar with the Williams twins there is no better place to start than their reactions to:

Real talk: I still watch the twins often, but nowadays my real bag is Jamel AKA Jamal, aka Jamel Griffen, a 40-year-old music fan from South Central L.A. The man is equally as glee-inducing as the twins, but he knows music. He may have never heard the song "Sweet Dreams" by the Eurythmics, but he's at least heard of Annie Lennox. (The twins had me in spasms one night when they were fawning over Stevie Nicks and had fawned over Fleetwood Mac a few days before, and they failed to make the connection! I mean, girl got her signature style down better than most performers).


Griffin knows his stuff and is genuinely curious to learn more. And the man has a shimmy when he hits his groove that is *chef's kiss.*


He's an activist. A man of the people. His merch includes all manner of wares with his motto:

"Just be a good human: be humble, be kind, spread joy, peace & love."

Can I tell you how many times I've put a sweatshirt in the website cart and then left without checking out? Times are lean, my friends, but damn I want that slouchy sweatshirt.


It's impossible to pick out his "greatest hits," but I enjoyed his reaction to a viral video about Hollywood stars you didn't know could sing. His face! His reactions!

Other notable videos include:

"People are People"-- by Depeche Mode (See also: "Just be a good human.")

"Walking on Broken Glass"-- Annie Lennox (That shimmy! and "Get 'em Annie!!)


Thanks for keeping "great music alive," Jamel.


415 views0 comments

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page