top of page
Search
mrchipman

What's buttering my bread these days? Jumpsuits.

Updated: Oct 17, 2020


Years ago, I had a podcast with my BFF at the time, and we ended that podcast with the question "What's buttering your bread these days?" and we would share something that was making us particularly happy over the past couple of weeks. Playing homage to those good ol' days with this ongoing series...


Otherwise known as "adult onesies," jumpsuits have been a staple of my wardrobe for a while now but not any time more than during these COVID-19 times.


I first learned about the glory of jumpsuits from a source that I swear was Slate.com, but can only now find on sources like Insider.com. Apparently, the PRETTYGARDEN brand of jumpsuits first were made famous by flight attendants late fall 2019, and since COVID those suits become the leisure-wear of choice among women who are first-time WFH-ers.


These jumpsuits are so comfortable, I have worn my sets, gosh, days on end. Sleep in them, WFH in them, make dinner in them, watch TV in them, and... repeat. We'll not talk about how long I can go without changing clothes.


I wouldn't wear them in a crowded, semi-formal function; but I have no qualms about wearing them on a grocery store run. If I think I may see someone I know, I might snap a belt around the middle to dress it up. In the cooler weather of the fall, I look forward belting the suit and wearing a jeans jacket over it.


I bought my first PRETTYGARDEN jumpsuit before the COVID started after I saw it was an article of clothing preferred by flight attendants. I used to travel a lot. I used to be a travel agent and a travel agency manager.


And I used to have a number of flight attendant friends. When flight attendants herald the comfort of footwear or off-the-clock-wear, listen to them.


I bought one: black. Then another one: army green. Then one for my Ma for Mother's Day in brick red. I have a brick red one arriving this week for myself. I have convinced via Twitter no fewer than 6 people to also buy the jumpsuits-- and some have bought multiples.


There are several styles available, but I always go with the 3/4 sleeve, "off-the-shoulder," ankle-length ones, which are the most expensive at $30.99. But they have tank and short-sleeved versions too.


What other outfits go to WFH to a trip to the store to (someday) dinner at a restaurant and are still comfortable enough to wear to bed?


These jumpsuits are definitely buttering my bread.


edit: 10/17 How could I forget the most important part-- they have pockets!



45 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page